Homemade Spicy Sundried Tomato Pasta Sauce

20130525-215020.jpg

Homemade Spicy Sundried Tomato Sauce w Bowtie Pasta | Photo & Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge: Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine.

Here’s my homemade Spicy Sundried Tomato Sauce. It took approximately 5hours to cook to perfection. Once I’d cooked the Tomatoes and additional ingredients down, I took half of the Sauce’s chunky ingredients and took them to the blender for a good spin and then back into my pot making it one lush pot of smooth Tomato Sauce.

This Sauce will be my “base sauce” for any other Sauce combinations I’ll make. More than likely I’ll add more Tomatoes or Cheese and maybe Meat eventually but, for now its the base Sauce for when I’m ready to pair it with my pasta or whatever else.

20130525-215039.jpg
*****INGREDIENTS*****
7 Tomatoes (cubed and pre Salted)
7 Sundried Tomatoes/ 1 cup of Sundried Tomato Bits
1 cup of Asiago/Fontina/Parmesan Cheese (Trader Joes Brand preferably)
7 cloves of Garlic
1 White Onion (chopped)
1/2 Red Onion (chopped)
7 -10 stems of Thyme
2 tbsp of Fresh Rosemary (whole)
3 tbsp of dried Oregano
3 tbsp of dried Basil/ 7 fresh leaves (whole)
1 tbsp of Sea Salt
1 tbsp of Red Pepper Flakes
1 tbsp Sugar
2 tbsp of Olive Oil
1 tbsp of Butter
Black Pepper to taste

*****GUIDE*****
1) In a small skillet on a low flame add your Olive Oil and Butter. Now add your Garlic Cloves, Onion, Red Pepper Flakes and Sundried Tomatoes. Give them all a good stir till the Onions go transparent.

2) In a medium sized pot add all of your ingredients accept Cheese. Turn on flame to medium then add your skillet ingredients and bring it all to a slow simmer for 4 hours with the pot covered.

3) Now in your 5th hour you’re going to taste your sauce to see what else may be needed, add your Black Pepper to taste and now your Cheese. At this point you’re going to lower the flame to its lowest point. Then check again for taste and you are done.

4) Prepare to now store your Sauce in a glass jar or other containers you may have.

Peace Be Your Journey….
NZINGHA

So, you all remember the evening that I was making my Tomato Sauce?

Well,…here are my results (2 days later)! I added a few newly fresh chopped Tomatoes (see them in the picture below) to my Sauce to make it nice and chunky and a bit more Red Pepper Flakes for a lil’ extra kick as well … Then I prepared some Bowtie Pasta in Sea Salt water to go with my Sauce. Topped the Pasta with Olive Oil and Cheese.

Mmmmm it’s really good! I’m actually going back for another spoon full right now. See you soon.

20130525-215029.jpg

Leave a Reply

