“Peanut Punch” Afrodisia

20130607-231851.jpg

Peanut Punch | Photo & Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge: Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

Written by NZINGHA

I don’t do this often but every now and again I will indulge in the richness of a well loved beverage in the Caribbean called “Peanut Punch”. Now everyone says that Peanut Punch has its origins in Trinidad, however I beg to differ. I believe it has it’s roots in Africa, as Africa is where peanuts first were “discovered” and bought to other lands during the Spice/Slave Trade. And since majority of the Caribbean’s people find their origins in Africa it’s fair to say a lot of Caribbean Cuisine is African Cuisine (just do a little homework and you’ll see).

Peanut Punch is one of those drinks you can become addicted to much like a milkshake, smoothie or other blended drink. Now lets be clear this drink had its popularity long before Starbucks was even thought of and has been passed down for generations. And many have said that its and energy booster and Caribbean legend has it that it aides in sexual stamina.

“Since peanut punch is rather high in fat due to the milk and peanut butter, and since dietary fats are suggested to influence sex hormones to some degree, it is often marketed as a natural aphrodisiac. Due to the high amount of protein and antioxidants in this popular beverage, it is also regarded as a health-promoting drink.”
~ wisegeek.com

There are several variations of this drink known all over the Caribbean and is different in each household. I’ve heard people squeeze a lime in it, add a Banana (called a fig in Trinidad), I even heard about some American athlete who loved the drink so much because it boosted his performance. I hear to his drink he adds pickle juice (sounds a bit crazy to me).

20130607-232504.jpg Photo & Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge: Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

For those who’ve never tried it before, once they get a taste they’re hooked!!! When I prepare mine (which I try not to do often , because I’d never drink anything else! Lolol!). Now going back to the fact that everyone makes this drink different from household to household the base ingredients stay pretty much the same Peanut Butter, Milk, Sweetened Condense Milk and Cinnamon/Nutmeg. Some people substitute Milk with Coconut Milk (that would be me, I raise my hand. Why because its a richer flavor profile and healthier).

In my Punch I’ve switched out a lot of things but I think it’s soo tasty and rich that’s why I only make it every so often. I use Coconut Milk, Coconut Water (ice cubes made with Coconut Water) and a touch of Coconut Cream. Yeah that’s really cheating but gosh is it good! I also have to say I’ve omitted the Agustora Bitters, not because I don’t like the flavor but it’s just not something I have regularly in my pantry.

When I initially posted my recipe on Facebook and Instagram I totally left out (by accident) a few ingredients namely Vanilla Extract. I know leaving that ingredient out is like a Caribbean sin and you know what?…if you serve it without those who are in the know can taste the difference!!!! Kinda scary huh? A Caribbean kitchen without Vanilla Extract is a kitchen you shouldn’t even cross the threshold into! Nuff said so I apologize for my typing error.

So here goes my version of “Peanut Punch”

Pictured here is my “Buttered Toffee Peanut Butter” | Photo & Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge: Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

20130607-232205.jpg

🍃NZINGHA’s Peanut Punch🍃

*****INGREDIENTS*****
2 tbsp of Creamy Peanut Butter
1/4 tsp of Coconut Cream (Coco Lopez loose liquid part only)
1 cup of Coconut Milk
1/2 cup of Sweetened Condensed Milk
1/4 tsp of Vanilla Extract
1 cup of Ice (optional)
Cinnamon & Nutmeg to taste
Chocolate Syrup for garnish

*****Guide*****
1) Add all of your ingredients (accept Chocolate Syrup, Cinnamon and Nutmeg, reserve those for additional garnish) to a blender and blend until smooth. Then pour into your container or to your glass.

•NOTE•
If the drink is too thick for your tastes just add a bit of Water/Coconut Water.

Peace Be Your Journey….
NZINGHA

20130607-232001.jpg Photo & Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge: Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

Trini Peanut Punch Recipe

4 thoughts on ““Peanut Punch” Afrodisia

    • That’s a great question….what’s the difference between Coconut Milk and Coconut Cream.

      Coconut Milk is made from mature Coconuts. The meat of the mature Coconut with water and squeezed through a sieve several times. And then the meat is separated from the pressed milk for later use.

      Coconut Cream is when the Coconut Milk separates from the water in the Milk. “Cream always rises to the top”.

      The Cream is prepared two different ways one is sweetened and in more liquid form for drink mixes (eg. Goya or Coco Lopez) made for drinks like Piña Colada. The other preparation of Coconut Cream is naturally sweet, in the form of a block and used with food items (eg. used in Peas & Rice).

      I hope I answered your question. 🙂 if anyone else has anything else to add please chime in :-).

      • Thank you dear. This explained it quite well; I think I might be making this sometime this week. I’ll post pics of how it turns out.

      • Oh, I’m glad to help. Please post them I’d love to see it, and most of all how it tastes to you, since my recipe is a bit different.

        Peace Be Your Journey…

Leave a Reply

