Granny’s Red Peas Soup

Vegetarian Red Peas Soup20131121-195150.jpg

Granny’s Red Peas Soup
Written | Photographed | Food by NZINGHA for ZLounge Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

I’m a total soup lover! How about you? Soups always remind me of my Grandmum/Granny/Mama and standing in the kitchen with her prepping all the yummies for a wonderful after school meal. These times we’d considered to be “Our Tea Time”, we carried that little tradition on until the day she made her Heaven bound transition.

My Grandmum always knew just how to reel me in to help her cook and sometimes shed let me take the lead in cooking. In those early days of cooking Ummmm I did have her correct me sometimes, well, honestly most times! Lololol!

One thing shed always kept in mind while cooking for me was one of my personal pet peeves…I don’t like to see my food too big and chunky! I’m very visual and if a dish looks too big to fit in the mouth I usually steer clear. Mouthful and bite-sized works best for me and that always usually how I prepare my food. I also now as an adult understand its about portion control too. So I always keep that in mind.

You know in every Caribbean household you have a Caribbean Cuisine Authority (food police) instructing you on the traditional ways to prepare everything from Rice and Peas (Peas and Rice for me since i like a bit more Peas. By the way is that discussion still going on about saying Rice and Peas or Peas and Rice? So silly…lets just eat!) to Red Peas Soup….and I heard it but always added something else to the mix (as I always do, it’s the Artist in me).

So pictured in this post are two healthy versions of my “interpretation” of Granny’s Red Peas Soup. Both are pretty hearty and filling to me even though the pieces of Vegetable and Dumplin’s are more bite-sized. Why do I say healthy well one spoon is strictly Vegetarian (I thinks my Vegetarian and Rastafari would approve) and the other I chose to use Smoked Turkey in opposition to and Beef or Pork. I think the Smoked Turkey adds just another layer of flavor.
Red Peas Soup Video

The traditional way I’ve been taught is with the following ingredients:
1 package dried red kidney beans
1 small onion
4 sections (fegs) of garlic
1 small green pepper
small bunch green onion
1/2 tsp. thyme
1 tsp. black pepper
two medium white potato
1 medium sweet potato
1 small yam (optional)
2 Tania (optional)
1 Dasheen (optional)
3 salted pig tails
1 lb smoked neck bones
1 rib celery
1 1/2 tsp. orange zest
1 tsp. ginger paste

Dumplings :
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup of water
2 tablespoons sugar
pinch of salt

This way of making the Red Peas Soup comes out of the Virgin Islands and some do add Beef (mostly in Jamaica) instead of the Turkey. My recipe is very similar but I add Coconut Milk and a pinch of Jerk to my list of ingredients. I also omit the Pigs Tails (Granny would be very upset at first but then be willing to try it! Lololol ) I can hear her now, “Eh Eh …Annzingha what’s this? Well let me get a taste….(smiling)
Red Peas Soup w Smoked Turkey

20131121-195400.jpg
🍃NZINGHA’s Red Peas Soup🍃
1 can of Goya Red Kidney Beans
1 lb Smoked Turkey Neck Bones
1 can of Grace Coconut Milk
2 cups of Water
1 half White Onion
5 cloves of Garlic
1 half Green Pepper
1 half Red Pepper
1/2 cup of Scallions
3 sprigs of Thyme
1 tsp. Black Pepper
1 medium sweet potato
1 small yam (optional)
1 medium Carrot
1 rib of Celery
1 1/2 tsp. of Jerk Seasoning
1tsp Ginger Powder

Dumplings :
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup of water
2 tablespoons sugar
pinch of salt

To make this Soup Vegetarian simply omit the meat and add more vegetables. My Dumplin’s are usually bite-sized. Here I made for the Vegetarian bowl “Spinna’s” then for the Smoked Turkey version I made “Spheres”. I like my Dumplin’s in different shapes sizes and colors…it just adds so much more visually to the Soups or Stews you’re making. I also like flavor in my Dumplin’s.
Ms. Faye’s Style of Red Peas Soup

Leave a Reply

