Decorating your table for the Thanksgiving Holiday?

Written by NZINGHA for ZLounge Nouvelle Caribbean Cuisine

Right now I’m getting ready for Thanksgiving…thinking about the menu and the decorations. This year is not like the previous years….oddly I’m feeling the holiday spirit and I’m starting early…yes it’s still October I know but I like to start early and enjoy the decorations because right after thanksgiving weekend I start with my Christmas decorations!!!

I’m becoming just like my Mum with holiday decorating! She loved looking at lights and trimmings during all of the holiday seasons year round. Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter all get decorations and dinners.

Here’s a sneak peek at my preliminary tablescape. I got various pieces from Pier 1, Target, Bed, Bath and Beyond and Amazon. Don’t you just love Amazon? Online shopping is so convenient because no lie…I hate lines!!

I’m always inspired by the fall seasons colors. Gold is the major color component for my tablescape. So it’s gold, silver, copper, orange, yellow, chocolate and plum….Oh and yes beads and shininess!!!


I’m a big fan of Japanese cuisine (I’m aware that Thanksgiving is not a tradition  of Japan). But as always I have got to mix up my flavours just a bit for variety so I’m going to have Sushi Rolls as an option on my Thanksgiving Dinner menu.

Here pictured above are my non traditional Japanese plating server…I found both items on Amazon! I have a shimmery gold painted slate server that I’m going to use as a dinner plate (with matching coasters) and I’ve got these lovely hand painted bamboo chopsticks painted in black with gold handles! I can’t wait to see the completed presentation! It’s going to be gorgeous!

One table trend I’ve been seeing over the years are white pumpkin decorations. Super bling pumpkins with rhinestones, glitter, beads and painted silver and gold. Some have monogram or beautiful calligraphy painted on them.

Another decoration idea is wreaths, lights , leaves and floral arrangements. Flowers like Chrysanthemums, Sunflowers, Roses and Berry stems alll make for beautiful lively seasonal arrangements. I always like rustic elements to a table even if it’s got some glam mixed in. 


Now let’s talk a bit about plating formally or informally. Here’s a simple little chart to get you started…

Okay so…how many people are you having over for dinner? I’m always concerned that I’ve either made too little or too much! And usually I made too much (so there are dozens of leftovers)!!

THANKSGIVING MENU 2016

Appetizers: 

Cheese and Crackers

Ham and Cheese Dip

Salad:

Seafood Salad

Sweet Potato, Kale, Cranberry and Nut Salad

Entrée:

Duck

Turkey

Leg of Lamb

Sides:

Drunken Orange Ginger Carrots

Stuffing 

Mashed Potatoes

Brussel Sprouts

Sautéed Spinach

Beverage:

Carmel Apple Sangria 

Desserts:

Sweet Potato Pie

Cinnamon Roll Apple Pie

Brown Sugar Pumpkin Pie 

Apple Pie Cookies

Autumn Rice Crispy Treats

Leave a Reply

